Outlining with yWriter: Step # 10, creating scenes.

At this point, you should have three tools to help you develop the scenes of your story. You have a well written long synopsis, well fleshed out characters, and an event list that has been divided into representative chapters. Further you have taken those event lists and expanded them by further developing them in step # 8.

Now it’s time to build some some scenes into your chapters. Select your first chapter and from yWriters “Scene” menu at the top of the screan, select, “Create Multiple Scenes”

If you still have the events in the chapter listings from earlier, you may delete them if you like. Or if you feel you still need them as a guide line, leave them. Select your first scene and give it a title that is meaninful to you. Something that will make sense to you at a glance.

I’m not going to go into details on how to use yWriter’s scene functions. I tend to follows a different method for creating my scenes and so just type the contents into the scenes description area. But yWriter does offer a great deal of functionality. Especially if you look at tyour scenes as Action and Reaction.

I tend to prefer looking at my scenes as Scene and Sequel, and while my method arrives at the same location, I just prefer teh terminology. For some reason it makes sense to me. Secondly I like typing the contents of my scene outline into the description area, because it is easy for me to then print out a working outline.

Note that I don’t write my stories in yWriters wordprocessor. I prefer my own word processor. However, you can choose to write this way, creating your entire story within yWriter. You can even use other software to edit documents within yWriter (Search the yWriter site for mre information on how to do that at: http://www.spacejock.com/yWriter5.html)

Steps 11 and 12 of the process involve writing and editing. Let your imagination take hold. And for now, this concludes the series of blog posts on How to Outline with yWriter.

About M.L.Hall

Writer of science fiction and fantasy tales. https://matthewlhall.wordpress.com/

Posted on February 6, 2013, in On Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

A.C. Williams

the official webpage of author A.C. Williams

Whisperer of Words

The Creative Journey of a Writer and Her Tips for You

The Obsessive Bookseller

Speculative Fiction Book Reviews by Niki Hawkes (for those in need of some seriously good reading)!

Kimberly Mellor

An aspiring writer looking for her voice to be heard

crispina kemp

A creative miscellany of mythic fantasies